Take notes on the note-taker’s bible

The Note-Taker’s Bible is available in various translations and various bindings. I have the hardcover NASB that comes with a dust-cover jacket.

The hardcover binding makes this bible very sturdy and quite weighty. I am used to soft bindings and personal size bibles, so holding and carrying this edition was much different. I chose not to keep the dust jacket, so off it went. The hardcover binding is a glossy black with a linen-wallpapered look. You have to really look close to notice the look though.

It seems that this bible may have once been titled: Wide or Extra Wide Margin Bible. Upon receiving this bible, I was thrilled to have a note-taker’s bible. I do own an ESV Journaling bible and I love it. When I received this, it was not like the Journaling bible at all.

First off, there is plenty of space for note-taking. The margins on the side are plentiful, but the real space comes in at the bottom of the pages, where there is so much room for space. You won’t be disappointed in the amount of space one each page.

Secondly, the pages not as thin as general bible formats. You’ll appreciate the quality of the paper, but to me, it is not the same as the Journaling Bible.

Thirdly, I was banking on some note-taking lines and formatting, but when I opened the bible, I saw blank spaces. This was a let down, in my opinion, because I like neatness and good formatting. However, others may love the freedom that comes with a blank canvas so that they can illustrate or format in their own ways. This aspect will truly come down to each his own.

All in all, this format of the NASB is not bad, but it isn’t what I was hoping for either. That’s just because of my note-taking preferences. I will use this bible in my own way and definitely take notes and jot down thoughts, outlines and implications. But I will not be using this bible in a corporate setting for note-taking during preaching/teaching.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the booklookbloggers.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Posted on December 19, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Take notes on the note-taker’s bible.

Comments are closed.

