Mentoring & Being Mentored

Image

Mentoring is a lost art in many cirlces of life…both in church & society. Here’s what a few notable folks say about mentoring:

“Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn.” 
― Benjamin Franklin

“The mind is not a vessel to be filled, but a fire to be kindled.” 
― Plutarch

“Leaders..should influence others..in such a way that it builds people up, encourages and edifies them so they can duplicate this attitude in others.” 
― Bob Goshen

“The mediocre leader tells. The good leader explains. The superior leader demonstrates. The great leader inspires.” 
― Gary Patton

Jim Grassi, a former fisherman, uses various anecdotes from his fishing days to relate to making disciples through mentoring. This book is a guide for those who want to mentor & be mentored. Grassi obviously writes from a male perspective with a heart for other men to be mentored. 

There are a few strengths and weaknesses with in the book. 

Strengths: The book is written with you in mind. // The book is crafty & has some practicality to it. // The book is going to be a help to some men. 

Weaknesses: The book doesn’t bring anything new to the table of discipling. // The book tends to become a means to the end, rather then the end. – The author continually references his website for other resources. 

Like so many books, this one can & will be of help to others. Just don’t expect this book to be everything you’ve been waiting for in a book on discipleship. 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

 
Posted on December 11, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Mentoring & Being Mentored.

Comments are closed.

