Just Like Jesus

Max Lucado is a well-known author in the evangelical world. His books are very seasoned with grace & this devotional (a re-print/updated edition) is no different. 

This devotional is a 31-day guide to help you grow into the image of Jesus. Each day is set with scripture, a brief commentary/illustration and questions for reflection (hearing/thinking/reflecting/speaking). 

This is a decent devotional and is of the same format as most devotionals. So ask yourself, is a devotional what I really need right now? This question came up in conversation this past weekend with a friend and he stated, “Devotionals never have done it for me. I’ve tried numerous ones, but I always find myself wanting to pick up my bible and put down the devotional.”

Devotionals are good tools and are great for developing the habit of pausing before the Lord and setting a routine of spending time with Him. However, there ought to be a time where a Christian graduates from devotionals and find himself/herself diving into the Word of God. This isn’t to say that a devotional can’t be used ever-so-often for the purpose of refreshment or discovering quotes. But a devotional is needed, but perhaps not permanently. 

This devotional would be a great resource for a young Christian or teenager who needs to set a routine. One critique of the devotional is the various translations that were used. (NKJV, NLT, MSG, & NIV). I never have understood why authors use a veritable plethora of translations. For this reader, it is too inconsistent to hop, skip, & jump through various translations. 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Posted on January 18, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Just Like Jesus.

Comments are closed.

