The Wonder(ful) Years?

Author Mark Gregston knows a thing or two, or sixty-things about teenagers. I mention 60 because he & his family live with 60+ teens in a counseling center in Texas. Needless to say, Gregston & his family are having a profound impact on/in the lives of teenagers. 

Although I am not a parent of a teenager, I do serve & lead teenagers. That is my calling and I am humbled by such a daunting task. Therefore, I take this text to heart as I attempt to peer into the mind & ways of a teenager(s). 

Although the text is practical and filled with purpose; one paragraph summed it for this reader. 

“When it comes to parenting, it’s not about us. It’s about our kids. Our parenting should NOT be a display of effort to try to be recognized as parent of the year, but ours should be lives filled with actions that teach our kids how to develop discernment, moral values, and compassion for the world around them….Moms and Dads, your teens don’t need more friends,; they need a parent. They need a close relationship with someone who is determined to teach them how to survive in a world where responsibility is an essential character trait.”

This reader would add to the prior paragraph an emphasis on teaching kids/teens the scriptures and on specifically modeling a life of biblical application before them from their birth to your death. Teach them the Word by reading the Word with them and Living the Word before them. 

This text serves as a prepatory guide for raising and living with teenagers. 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Image

Posted on June 21, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on The Wonder(ful) Years?.

Comments are closed.

