Guide your life, then guide their life

Author Dave Stone has introduced a series of books on strengthening families in the Lord. But in this text, Stone advocates that it begins with you, the parent, the reader. If you want to raise your kids to love the Lord, then you need to love the Lord. So it begins with you & the implications for why that is, are endless!

This text has specific addresses to both mothers & fathers & how each has a different role in raising their children. I do believe that a mother ought to set an example for her son, in the type of woman he will want to marry one day, and vice-versa for the father & daughter. One implication from the above remarks is that so much is often caught rather than taught. Your children are listening to you, but they are also watching you. Who you are is just as important as what you say. They need to match up so that your children become doers instead of just listeners.

This book/series should serve as a simple tool for raising your children. There are things to glean from this text that are worth implementing. I look forward to using this text & its principles one day, as a father. But for now, I must focus on my own walk with the Lord & the direction I am setting my family up to go in.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Posted on May 9, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Guide your life, then guide their life.

Comments are closed.

